Fitted


There comes a time in every girl’s life when she plans a wedding. Or a huge anniversary. Or a birthday party.
And, it just so happens that these special occasions make most girls want to wear that special dress, which just makes us all prone to wondering what to wear, and how we will look in what we wear and how many photos would be taken in that very special dress.
And, it also just so happens that weddings, in particular, have this effect especially, because after all, a wedding may come but once in a lifetime and it is a day that many girls look forward to for a very, very long time.
I was never one of those girls. In fact, I never thought I would get married, and now here I am.
And, weeks before my first dress fitting, there I stood, in front of my bathroom mirror, naked, and looking over my entire body. I loved what I saw, every single curve. But, I also started thinking about that dress and how I would look in it, and all the photos in that dress. And, I wanted to look better. Not thinner. Not lose weight weight loss now now now but toned. Stronger. And, I wanted to feel better too.
There was a time a little while back when I was at a slightly lower weight and I felt healthy, strong. I was active. And more than anything else that’s what I wanted-to feel that good again.
I sat down with my thoughts and wondered how to make this happen. No way would a diet be part of this effort.
So, a few years ago it would have been easy to simply eat soup every day for lunch or cut out fat (no freaking way would I do that now) or just slice out some random food-or food group from my diet.
Now, I had to come up with a way to do it and still enjoy all the wonderful foods I love, like ice cream. It’s summer and there’s no way I’m not eating ice cream.
So, I decided to get active. I googled what it took to burn 100 calories and made some changes to my routine.
I started walking every night for thirty minutes after dinner. I did a few crunchies and a couple of simple yoga stretches before bedtime.
I decided to eat healthier.
I drink more water throughout the day and I eat more fruits and veggies. I still eat all the foods I love love love, too-just in moderation and when my body truly wants them. You hear that ice cream-I am coming for you.
Sure, I won’t look different overnight. I might not even lose one pound before the wedding day.
But, I will get stronger.
I will tone.
I will feel better.
And, I will reach my feel good weight-the feel good way.

Leave a Reply

