Dinner

Growing up, my mom, dad, and I ate dinner together every night. Mom Eat would prepare a delicious homemade meal and the three of us sat around the table every night telling stories about our day, laughing, and enjoying the delicious food.

When I first left home to go to college, I don’t think I realized how much I would miss those dinners.

When I first moved into an apartment on my own, I don’t think I realized how much I enjoyed sitting around a table eating dinner.

When I first moved in with Boy Eat, I don’t think I realized how much I wanted to eat dinner seated at a table, talking, and enjoying every bite.

In the last few years, from bar stools, to tray tables, to eating on the floor on a giant rug, Boy Eat and I have made do. From eating on our rooftop terrace (blessed I tell you-that is a true true blessing on a beautiful fall night) to outside on our little patio. From balancing our plates on our laps on our sofa, to eating on the go or being halfway done before the entire meal is even cooked. Eating each part of dinner at once because let’s face it, a tray table can only hold so much at once. Dinner just hasn’t been the same. It’s funny, when you really think about it, how much the furniture can really be a part of dinner.

The table.

And, the togetherness.

There’s just something about sitting around a table with the ones you love, talking and laughing, and enjoying your meal, television off, music turned down, in silence and in speech.

Now, Boy Eat and I have a house. One of things I love the most about having a house is having dinner-at the dining table.

We hear a lot about the value of eating dinner, with your family. Sure, this isn’t something many of us can manage every night in the week. But, maybe we can manage just Sunday nights with the whole family. Oh, how nice that would be, and, more importantly, those dinners might help to get us through the rest of the week.

Perhaps it’s time to send Mom Eat and Dad Eat their very first invitation.

Leave a Reply

