Man World

Sitting in my coworker’s office the other day, eating lunch with the office ladies, I started to really listen to what they were saying-not about their homes, or our jobs, but about food.

Food.

Well, I cannot eat sugar at all because it goes straight to my giant hips.

Well, my fat a– is one to talk, let me tell you.

Sara, you can eat anything, can’t you? You are TINY.

You should never eat that many carbohydrates in one meal. You need protein. I don’t even eat bread anymore.

And, I started to wonder. My mind wandered, away from my lunch with the ladies to the lunch where the men were.

Were they talking about the same things?
Were they chastising each other for eating-EATING-bread? BREAD?
Were they talking about themselves so degradingly (my giant hips, my fat a–)

There is a lot to be said for speaking about the genders equally, and not separating the genders in discussions of issues like body image, eating disorders, and ideal physical form. But, in my experience, men do not degrade, denigrate, and destroy themselves all in the name of thinness.

And, we do.
Instead of promoting restricting our diets, perhaps we should enjoy all things edible, in moderation.
Instead of insulting ourselves, we should shower praise upon ourselves freely.
Instead of judging each other, we should offer our guidance, support and strength.

We owe it to each other to change the way we think. More importantly, we owe it to ourselves.

Leave a Reply

